Policy Partnership on Science, Technology and Innovation

APEC’s Policy Partnership for Science, Technology and Innovation (PPSTI) envisions that the APEC region will have achieved innovative economic growth by 2025. (PPSTI Strategic Plan 2016-2025)

The PPSTI’s mission is to “support the development of science and technology cooperation as well as effective science, technology, and innovation policy recommendations in APEC through collaboration between government, academia, private sector and other APEC fora.”

The partnership was formed in 2012, when APEC agreed to broaden the mandate of the Industrial Science and Technology Working Group (ISTWG) to include in its discussions innovation policy development and to intensify cooperation among governments, businesses and academia. The ISTWG was renamed to the PPSTI, and a new terms of reference outlining the PPSTI’s mandate and goals was endorsed.

Last page update: February 2018

Current Activities

2019 ASPIRE Prize

The APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education (“ASPIRE”) is an annual award which recognizes young scientists who have demonstrated a commitment to both excellence in scientific research, as evidenced by scholarly publication and cooperation with scientists from other APEC member economies.

Each year, the chairing APEC member economy provides a theme for the ASPIRE Prize.  For its host year of 2019 Chile selects "Natural Laboratories” as the ASPIRE nominating theme. This theme focuses on scientific developments through the discovery in nature, or “natural laboratories.”

To read more about the award, the criteria for eligibility and the selection process, go to www.apec.org/aspire.

Related News

See all news


Events and Collaboration

PPSTI has enjoyed cross-fora collaboration with the Economic Committee and Human Resources Development Working Group and has forged new connections with ABAC and the International Association of Science Parks.

The Internet of Vehicles

The Internet of Vehicles (IOV) is an integrated computer network supporting intelligent traffic management, dynamic information service and vehicle control.


Contact Us

Dr Leon-Velarde Servetto


Mr Chen Linhao

Vice Chair
Department of International Cooperation
Ministry of Science and Technology People's Republic of China Address: 15B Fuxing Road, Beijing 100862, China


Program Director