Papua New Guinea has become the 16th APEC Member Economy to join the APEC Business Travelers Card (ABTC) program that enables pre-cleared short-term entry to 16 APEC Member Economies. The ABTC Program also facilitates rapid immigration processing for business travelers through special APEC lanes at major airports.
Chair of the APEC Business Mobility Group (BMG) that is responsible for the program, Mr. Ed Killesteyn, welcomed the inclusion of Papua New Guinea in the program.
"Papua New Guinea's participation in the APEC Business Travelers Card program means business people can travel to 16 economies with greater ease of movement and efficiency.
"The APEC Business Travel Card cuts though the red tape of business travel in the Asia-Pacific.
"After applicants have been issued with the ABTC they have three years multiple entry facilities for stay in participating economies for at least 60 days and fast-track immigration processing at major airports.
"Papua New Guinea and the region will enjoy greater business opportunities through the increased flexibility of business travel through our 16 participating Member Economies. There are sixteen APEC economies currently participating in the ABTC program:
  • Australia
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Chile
  • China
  • Hong Kong (China)
  • Indonesia *
  • Japan
  • Republic of Korea
  • Malaysia
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea *
  • Peru
  • The Philippines
  • Singapore *
  • Chinese Taipei
  • Thailand
* Economies that have signed the ABTC Operating Framework and are preparing to commence issuing cards to their passport holders or granting pre-cleared entry to foreign card applicants.
Additional details on the ABTC are available at the Business Mobility Group Website: